Summer Reading List

by ladanassayesh

Summer is a wonderful season for reading because you now have so many more places and opportunities to do it.  Lounging by the pool, lying on the beach, on the plane on your way to your vacation or at the airport waiting for your flight , all present great spans of time to really get absorbed into a book.  This is one of the reasons I always look forward to the summer season, even though I no longer get summer vacations.  This is a short list of books I am hoping to read before summer ends:

Rien de RienDavid Sedaris’ new collection of essays makes the seemingly most mundane elements of life  hilarious and entertaining.

Rien de RienKhaled Hosseini’s previous novels The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns are two rare books that completely sucked me in, so much so that I felt like I was going through a withdrawal when I finished them.  I expect nothing less from his new novel.

Rien de RienSo many shows on NPR have highlighted Patricia Volk’s new memoir.  I recently finished Elsa Schiaparelli’s autobiography and I am excited to read about the impact the iconic designer had on the author’s life.

What is on your reading list this summer?

